The Ullswater Hotel was originally built in 1830 to serve the local mining industry and the growing tourist trade. When steamers were introduced to Ullswater in 1859, the main jetty was located within the hotel grounds and steamers met up with coaches to take travellers on to other parts of the Lake District. At the start of the Second World War its use changed and initially it was used accommodation for evacuee children and later as an army training base.
The buildings did not become a hotel again until 1975. At this time the mews containing Stoney Steps was redeveloped as apartments which were in part sold to fund further work on the hotel. We bought Stoney Steps in 1976 and have owned it ever since.
Kit and Charles Graves, bought The Ullswater Hotel in 2000 and over the past 18 years have transformed it with major investments, renovation and a name change to 'The Inn on the Lake'. Further major improvements have been made in the form of; The Orangery (2013) and The Ramblers Bar and Candle Room (2016). Up to 1953, the Ramblers Bar housed the local fire station. Rather than putting out fires, the bar now quenches thirsty walkers instead.
The hotel has excellent facilities, beautiful gardens and boasts some of the finest views to be found in the Lake District. It is a very popular hotel and hosts weddings throughout the year.
Guests in the Flat need to be aware that the hotel grounds are available for them to walk in and that parking for up to two cars is permitted. However facilities provided for hotel guests such as the golf course and spa are not included.